The Next Big Thing

Is everyone beginning to recover from the holidays?

Christine Pope tagged me for ‘The Next Big Thing’, and so for today’s post, I get to answer a bunch of really fun questions for you about me and Cornerstone! Christine writes in a variety of genre’s, but I’ve really enjoyed some of her fantasy titles.   “This is Beauty and the Beast as it is meant to be, at once wreathed in fantasy and magic, and grounded in the hard truths of reality and love. Christine has a style unique and totally her own, both suitably archaic and elegantly modern. She can conjure the peasant towns and drafty castle of the Middle Ages, the magic and folklore reminiscent of influences like J.R.R. Tolkien and Tad Williams, as well as the insightful understanding of human psychology and love anchoring this potent and compelling tale. If Dragon Rose and All Fall Down are indicative of the caliber of stories we can expect from the ‘Tales of the Latter Kingdoms,’ then fantasy fans should eagerly await every new release from this author.”—Amber Sweetapple, author of the “Houri Legends” series

How it works is that everyone on the blog tour answers the same five questions, and then they “tag” five more writers to keep the tour going. Here are my answers to those five questions.

1) What is the working title of your current/next book? Cornerstone/Second Stone

2) Where did the idea come from? I wouldn’t really call it a dream, but the idea for the main characters in Cornerstone popped into my head, and then it stuck with me. The thought really stuck with me, and wouldn’t go away. For three years I tried to tell myself that I couldn’t possibly write a book, until I eventually decided Cornerstone was a story I couldn’t possibly not tell. The image was of Emariya, the heroine, in front of a frozen pass with a stone gate. Behind her, her own land encouraged her on, while she looked ahead to the unknown. I knew she didn’t want to go, but that she felt she had no other option. I also knew that on both sides of that pass, a man waited. One of them would be kind, and thoroughly good. The other, would not be. What I didn’t know was which was which!

3) What genre does your book fall under? Fantasy Romance (YA) Time and time again, what inspires me in books I read is a good, timeless romance. I like to have a couple that I can hope for and cheer on as they try and overcome their own obstacles.

4) What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?  Swoon. Torian would be played by Ian Somerhalder. Reeve would be played by Alexandar Skarsgard and Emariya would be played by Taylor Swift.

5) What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? A medieval heiress travels to a neighboring hostile kingdom after her brother promises her hand in marriage to a prince who may want her only for the power contained within her bloodline.

6) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?  Self Published. I will however be entering Cornerstone in Amazon’s Breakout Novel Award contest, so maybe it could get picked up =)

7) How long did it take you to write the first draft?  About 6 weeks. I spend a lot more time on edits, critiques and revisions than I do on the first draft, but usually the first draft has a solid storyline, but several areas where the wording needs to be improved.

8) What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? I think that readers who liked Richard and Kahlan’s love story in Sword Of The Truth may appreciate Cornerstone.

9) Who or what inspired you to write this book? The character image in my head was the inspiration, but it was my husband who encouraged me to go for it.

10) What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest? Cornerstone has a crushworthy hero, a bit of magic, a lot of betrayal and a good bit of mystery. Readers so far have expressed joy in trying to come up with their own theories, then watching the story unfold as they try and learn if their guesses were correct.

The five writers I’m tagging to keep the hop going are:

Nadine Ducca a SF/Fantasy writer, who I got to Beta read for. Her debut novel Serving Time should be out in 2013, and I loved the Beta version, so readers are in for a real treat.

John Kang – One of my crit partners has created the most wonderful fantasy world. I only wish he could write faster. His novel is still a work in progress, but having read most of the first draft, I’m incredibly excited by it.

Ardyth Debruyn – Fantasy writer and another of my crit partners – I’m constantly impressed by her versatility. She writes very funny fantasy AND really traditional fantasy.

J D. Hallowell – Fantasy writer, with wonderful books about dragons! I read Dragon Fate this summer and adored it, and now he’s just released the sequel, Dragon Blade!

Cyrus Keith – Cyrus just finished up an awesome trilogy called The Nadia Project, which I have heard extraordinarily good things about. It’s on my ‘make time to read’ list.