The Deepest Night – Shana Abe’

August 14, 2013 Books I've Enjoyed 2

The Deepest NightWhen I saw The Deepest Night on NetGalley, I would like to say I was calm. Collected. Professional.

But I’d be lying.

I squealed, requested it, and then obsessively checked my emails for an approval notice like a rabid dog frothing at the mouth, slobbering and waiting for something to attack. So when the approval showed up I dropped everything, and read.

And now I’m sad, and wish I hadn’t read it quite as fast… because the experience is over, and I have to wait for the next book. Just like Jesse stays with Lora, The Darkest Night will stay with me, but it isn’t quite the same.

 

[box style="gray rounded" ]

The Deepest Night

Source: Netgalley – Arc in exchange for review

Release Date: August 13th, 2013

 

 

A rich portrait of post-Victorian England, The Deepest Night seamlessly blends thrilling romance with riveting history and adventure—perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Lauren Kate.

It’s 1915, and sixteen-year-old Lora Jones is finishing up her first year as a charity student at Iverson, a prestigious, gothic boarding school on England’s southern coast. While she’s always felt different from everyone around her, now she finally knows why: She is a drákon, a rare, enchanted being with astonishing magical abilities.

As war hits Britain’s shores, and Lora reels from an unimaginable loss, she finds that her powers come with grave and dangerous responsibilities. At the request of Armand Louis, the darkly mysterious boy whose father owns Iverson, Lora will spend her summer at his lavish estate. To help the war effort—and to keep Lora near—Armand turns his home into a military hospital, where Lora will serve as a nurse. For Armand is inescapably drawn to her—bound to her by heart-deep secrets and a supernatural connection that runs thicker than blood.

Yet while Lora tries to sort out her own feelings toward Armand, fate offers an unexpected surprise. Lora discovers there is another drákon, a prisoner of war being held in Germany. And that only she, with her newly honed Gifts, will be able to rescue him.

With Armand at her side, Lora will cross enemy lines on an incredible mission—one that could bond her to Armand forever, or irrevocably tear them apart.

Beautifully written, deeply romantic, and filled with daring adventure and magic, The Deepest Night is a mesmerizing novel of the enduring pull of destiny, and the eternal strength of love.

[/box]

Shana’s words are so magical, and musical they are really a divine delight to read. I find that when I’m reading her stories, the plot really takes a backburner to the pleasure of simply immersing myself in her prose. And her characters are so captivating, so vivid, I can’t help forget this is fiction, not reality.

The characters we adored in The Sweetest Dark are back – Lora, Sophie, Armand (Though he is definitely changing, not nearly as much of a jerk as he seemed at first in the first book) and in his own star-like way, Jesse. I was thrilled that he wouldn’t totally be gone, because I really like him. What surprised me is how much Armand is growing on me. I am usually very against love triangles, but in this case I really do love both Armand and Jesse, and I don’t blame Lora a bit for being a bit torn between the two. Heck, I’m torn between the two.

The main characters are all so noble, and so selfless. If we didn’t have Chloe to be a selfish brat, I’d think the entire cast a little too perfect. Fortunately, Chloe hasn’t changed in the least, so not to worry.

The plot here only had one major surprise, and I cannot tell you what it is of course, but I think it will startle you as much as it startled me and Lora. This book is more about the character’s journey after the aftermath. Armand is dealing with the fallout from his father’s episode. Lora is sucked into the fallout from his Reginald’s episode. It is about to be the summer break, and Lora isn’t sure where she will go since she can’t remain at Iverson (and isn’t even sure if she can come back.) Jesse is no longer living, which tortures all the characters in their own way. One of the most poignant parts is when Mandy tells Lora he’d give her anything she wanted, but the only thing she wants is the one thing he can’t give her.

I will definitely re-read this book just for the pleasure of going through the feelings of the characters again, and for the delight of sinking into Shana’s world. The Darkest Night might be a bit sweeter than The Sweetest Dark, and it definitely left me wanting more.

2 Responses to “The Deepest Night – Shana Abe’”

  1. Bookworm Brandee

    I hadn’t heard of this series, Kelly, but plan on becoming acquainted asap! :) The Deepest Night sounds amazing…I am particularly fond of lyrical prose, and it sounds like this fits the bill. Thanks so much for introducing me to a new series.

    • Kelly Walker

      Oh it is awesome. Definitely start with The Sweetest Dark before you read The Deepest Night. Even though this set of novels technically follows her other Drakon series, it can be read without reading the first series. When I was done with The Deepest Night I craved more of her writing, so I went and read the Drakon books as well. The first 3 are fabulous, 4 and 5 kind of falter a little bit.